Home » News » LEF Announces 2016 Fellowship Recipients

Congratulations to the 2016 LEF Fellowship recipients!

LEF awards fellowships annually to LISD employees who are actively pursuing advanced degrees to propel their education career and better serve the students and stakeholders of LISD.

Mariya Davis – 2016 Dr. Paula Walker Special Education Fellowship ($500) Mariya is the Special Education Diagnostician at Lamar Middle School. She is pursuing a Doctorate in Special Education at Texas Women’s University. She plans to graduate in December.

Sarah Fuller – 2016 Minnie Mae and Mack R. Bogard Teacher Fellowship ($500)  Sarah, who teaches at Old Settlers Elementary, is pursuing a Masters in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at the University of Texas, Arlington. She plans to graduate in 2017.

Justin Huber – 2016 Dr. Jerry Roy Fellowship ($1000) Justin is a social studies teacher at Lewisville Learning Center. He is pursuing a Masters degree in Educational Leadership at the University of North Texas. He will graduate in 2017.

Amy Laabs – 2016 Dr. Jerry Roy Fellowship ($500) Amy is a third grade teacher at Hicks Elementary. She is pursuing a master’s degree in Math Curriculum Instruction and School Counseling from the University of Texas, Arlington. She will graduate in 2018.

Grant Wilhite – 2016 Dr. Jerry Roy Fellowship ($500) Grant leads the AVID program at Lewisville High School. He is pursuing a master’s degree in school counseling at Lamar University. He will graduate in 2018.

These awards will be formally presented at LEF’s Annual Scholarship Awards Night on Monday, May 9, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. at Lewisville High School’s Stuver Auditorium. Recipients, their families, the benefactors who make the fellowships possible, and supporters of LISD and LEF are invited to attend.

For more information on LEF’s fellowship program, contact LEF Programs Coordinator Sherah Robinson.