Home » News » Hampl Finds Good Chemistry With LEF Scholarship

Rachel Hampl, 2015 graduate of Lewisville ISD’s Marcus School, was awarded the Melanie Sanford Gillan Young Athenians Fund Scholarship through LEF’s scholarship program last spring.

“The scholarship was a blessing.  I am very grateful to LEF and LISD,” Hampl said. “Not just for receiving the Melanie Sanford Gillan Scholarship but also for the amazing education I received with LISD.”

Hampl now attends Texas A&M University. “I’m starting my second semester, and I plan to major in Chemical Engineering,” she told LEF. “This degree will give me numerous opportunities in the world of chemistry. I am a member of the Society of Women Engineers which is empowering the advancement of women in engineering and SWELites which is an organization for developing leadership skills in freshman women through service in the community.”

She’s engineered a formula that should translate to success and fulfillment. “The LEF scholarship definitely reduced my college expenses and will bring me closer to my dreams of becoming a life-long learner.” Hampl said. “The scholarship also makes me realize I am not alone in this journey and my community is vested in my success. I hope to reinvest my success and someday bring it back to my community.”

LEF works with local booster clubs and PTAs to administer scholarships, and is home to endowed scholarships designed to honor the memory or legacy of those who play a role in student success in LISD.

LEF is proud of Hampl’s success thus far and is honored to be a small part of it! LEF will have a similar role in LISD’s 2016 graduates’ future: The scholarship application is open now at lisdef.com.

All LISD seniors should apply. The deadline to submit an application is Friday, January 29, 2016, at 4:30 pm.

Applicants will be notified via email in April as to the status of their application. Those selected will be invited to participate in LEF’s annual Awards Night on May 9, at Lewisville High School’s Stuver Auditorium, where benefactors will be on hand to present awards.